Connect with us


11 State Varsities Shun ASUU




No fewer than 11 state universities are not participating in the strike declared by the Academic Staff Union of Universities. As the strike by ASUU entered its 204th day, lecturers in some state universities are not on strike. Academic activities are going on in universities owned by Osun, Rivers, Delta, Borno, Anambra, Kwara and Akwa Ibom states as well as the three universities owned by Lagos State.

Lecturers in two universities owned by Rivers State, Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt and the Rivers State University, Port Harcourt, did not join the strike.  Ignatius Ajuru University of Education, Port Harcourt, academic activities are going on as many of the students were writing examinations on Monday. Academic activities are in progress at Osun State University.

Also, the Delta State University, Abraka, was in session despite the position of the ASUU branch in the university. The Anambra State-owned  Chukwuemeka Odumekwu Ojukwu University, Igbariam, is also not affected by the strike. Normal lectures were going on at Kwara State University, Malete in the Moro Local Government Area of the state on Monday.

The Federal Government has said it is considering a number of options to bring an end to incessant strikes in tertiary institutions across the country.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.